Who we are

Ben L. Feringa

Prof. dr. Ben L. Feringa obtained his Ph.D.-degree in 1978 at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands under the guidance of Prof. Hans Wynberg. After working as a research scientist at Shell he was appointed full professor at the University of Groningen in 1988 and named the distinguished Jacobus H. van’t Hoff Professor of Molecular Sciences in 2004. He was elected foreign honorary member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences. His research interests include stereochemistry, organic synthesis, asymmetric catalysis, molecular switches and motors, photopharmacology, self-assembly and nanosystems. He received the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Philip H. Elsinga

Prof. Dr. Philip H. Elsinga is an organic chemist by training and and obtained his PhD in 1995 at the University of Groningen. He is involved in PET-related radiopharmaceutical research and translation of radiopharmaceuticals to the clinic. He is author of >180 peer-reviewed articles. International activities are (amongst others) EANM Radiopharmacy Committee,  Editor-in-Chief of European Journal of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Radiopharmacy and Chemistry and invited expert for IAEA.

Wiktor Szymanski

Wiktor Szymanski received his PhD degree from The Warsaw University of Technology, Poland, in 2008, working under the supervision of Prof. Ryszard Ostaszewski. He spent two years working on the use of biotransformations in organic chemistry with Prof. Ben L. Feringa and Prof. Dick B. Janssen at the University of Groningen. Since 2010 he has been working on the construction of photoactive protein- peptide- and DNA-bioconjugates and photopharmacology in the Feringa Labs. In 2014, he joined the Department of Radiology, University Medical Center Groningen, where he was appointed in 2015 as tenure track assistant professor.